User Tools

Site Tools


manual:patient_record_management_sharing

Back

Sharing Patients in MMEx

One of the advantages of being an MMEx user is that you can access your patient records from any location.

In addition to this, MMEx has the ability to provide Patient Record access between multiple sites or organisations, and between organisations on demand.

This is done via the Patient Access tab in the patient details page. From the Patient Widget under Patient Details Menu click on Access.

or

from Patient Avatar click Edit Details
and click on Patient Access

It is important to check the patient record ownership prior to sharing a patient. This can be found in a column on the patient search page as shown, and on the Patient Sharing Tab of Patient Details. Please refer to “Transfer of record ownership” section for information about how to share or transfer ownership.

Patient Sharing Scenarios

In the screenshots below, patient sharing is explained in detail in three practical scenarios.
These scenarios reference “Clinic A” and “Clinic B” where these might be any “Organisation” (i.e. patient silo) within MMEx.

The patient advises that they will be attending Clinic B for some appointment and requests their file to be shared. Clinic A records a patient consent to share by clicking on Add Consent and filling in the appropriate details:

Clinic A will now go to the Patient Access Tab and grant Clinic B access to the patient record as shown:

By Default the Primary Practitioner and Owner will be the clinic where the record was originally created. In this case Clinic A will be the Owner and Primary Practitioner and retains control over the access to the patient record.

Both organisations can now work in the single patient record simultaneously ensuring that they are working with the latest available information.

The Patient presents at Clinic B but has not previously requested access from Clinic A. (The patient may not be aware this is possible.)

Receptionist at Clinic B, recognising Clinic A as an organisation that has the capacity to share a file asks the patient to provide consent.

The patient provides a valid written or verbal consent for sharing their clinical record from Clinic A with Clinic B.

Then Clinic B Contacts Clinic A, advises them of the request. Clinic A approves the request and then shares the patient record as per the steps in Scenario 1.

Scenario 3: Patient arrives at Emergency Department-record is accessed temporarily under emergency conditions

The Patient presents at Clinic B - the Emergency Department of Blue Hospital - for emergency treatment.

Clinic A and Clinic B (an Emergency Department) have a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) in place that sets out the conditions for temporarily accessing the patient record and the responsibilities and obligations this entails. Clinic A and B have confirmed this arrangement with MMEx Helpdesk who have configured the required settings and permissions.

Help Desk can configure this access with following options:

Consent:

  • None - Patient consent for sharing information is not required, e.g. within a single legal entity across unconnected MMEx organisations.
  • Required - Patient consent is required.

Expire Access After:

  • Specify the number of days the access will be active.

Once this access configured, Clinic B will be able to access patient records from Clinic A, as required, temporarily.

Process

Triage nurse at Clinic B searches MMEx for this patient, they see the screen below:

Access Method 1

Clicking on “Expand search to other patient lists” will allow them to search in the organisations for which temporary access has been provided.
They will see the patient record as shown below.

Access Method 2

The import patient button can also be used to search for a patient that has been shared to the organisation via patient list access.

This will open the window as shown below. The other organisation needs to be selected to search for the patient:

Searching for the patient will show them listed as shown:

If consent is required, then clicking on the patient record will open the consent page, allowing the clinic to add consent.

Once consent has been added, the patient record can be accessed.

By default the access is limited to a 24 hour period.

Clinic B, reciprocates the access by recording the ED presentation and entering an ED Presentation Progress Note. (See sample template)

Notifying the Record Owner

When the patient record has been accessed through this Emergency Access arrangement, the Patient Record Owner receives a secure message advising them of the access.

Opening up the message, the recipient can see the day, time and patient details

Patient Record Ownership

The following points should be kept in mind with regards to patient record ownership

  • Only a patient record owner can grant access to a patient record to another organisation, a non-owner will not be able to share a patient record with any other organisations
  • A patient record owner can make another organisation an owner. So there can be multiple owners for a particular patient record.
  • An owner can only be removed if they demote themselves from the owner position and give ownership to another organisation. The new owner can remove the previous owner’s access record.

Transfer Ownership

In order to transfer record ownership, the owner will need to make another organisation owner. This is the organisation the ownership is being transferred to. In the figure below, Clinic B is this organisation as shown:

The owner Clinic A in this case, will need to demote themselves by unticking Is Owner as shown.

A messsage will be prompted to the user when the Is Owner is unticked

When this is done, the Add New button will go away as the current organisation is no longer the owner.

Now, Clinic B is the owner. They can now remove Clinic A from the patient access tab by clicking the “Delete” button as shown:

Once access has been deleted, the patient record will no longer be visible in Clinic A.

Multiple Record Ownership

An owner can make another organisation a record owner by ticking the “Is Owner” option as shown:

The patient record will now have two owners with each having the ability to manage patient access.

Removing Access

Click on Delete for the organisation for whom you wish to remove record access.

You will only see the Delete button if you created the patient record.

If a patient is being permanently transferred from one site/clinic/silo to another, the original owner must relinquish their ownership themselves, then the new owner removes the original owner's access.

Warning - this will completely remove the patient record from your organisation. You will not longer have access to any data associated with that patient.

Access Record History

To view a the Patient Record Access and ownership activity history for a specific access , click on the relevant History button.

Past Ownership/Access

The Past Access table displays all previous Ownership and Access records that have expired.

Primary Care Provider

The Primary Care Provider field “attaches” a patient record to one particular organisation for the purposes of reporting.(See Patient Reporting)

To assign Primary Provider status to an organisation, check the Primary Provider field in the Access Record.

A patient record may only have ONE Primary Provider, checking this box will remove the currently assigned Primary Provider.

Primary Provider details display in the demographic header of the patient clinical record.

manual/patient_record_management_sharing.txt · Last modified: 2019/05/16 04:01 by sarahb